top of page
  • Writer's pictureHayley Beierle

Packing for Your Next Disney Vacation

Updated: Dec 6, 2020


When it comes to packing to go on vacation, there are two different types of people: (1) those who obsess over it and end up over packing and (2) those who are more carefree and do it the night before leaving. But I think we can all agree that the worst part about packing for a vacation is forgetting the important stuff.


There are a lot of different factors that go into packing for a Disney Vacation. You have to factor in weather, activities, and any special events you may attend. Walt Disney World is located in Florida, which means you are dealing with the heat and rain most of the year. There are four different theme parks and two water parks that you can visit as well as many different restaurants with unique themes to experience.


In this article, I’ll be going over the packing lists I have for Disney vacations. For the most part, it won’t be much different than a regular vacation but it will have added items you won’t need unless you’re at Disney World.


(Note: A little unrelated, I like to schedule flights that will allow me to have a checked bag, carry-on, and a personal item. This will allow you to maximize room for bringing home souvenirs.)


Checked Bag

Unlike going on other vacations, when you go to Disney World, you have the option of taking the Magical Express from the airport to your Resort. So once you check your bag at the departing airport you won’t see your bag again until you arrive in your Resort room. The majority of your clothes, toiletries, and shoes will go into this bag.


Here are some travel essentials to pack:


Clothes:

Tops: T-Shirts, Tank Tops, Athletic Tops, Sweatshirt

Bottoms: Jeans, Shorts, Athletic Shorts

Pajamas

Underwear and Socks

Swimsuits and Cover-Up

Rain-Resistant Coat or Light jacket

Toiletries:

For in the Shower: Full-Sized Shampoo, Conditioner, and Body Wash, Q-tips

Everyday Use: Deodorant, Make-up and Make-up Remover, Lotion, Face Wash, Toothbrush and Paste, Dry Shampoo, Body Spray, Sunscreen

Accessories:

Sunglasses, I usually travel with two pairs

Mickey Ears, duh!

Belts

Hats, either ball caps or fashion hats

Magic Bands, DON’T FORGET THESE!!

Carry-On

Since you’ll have limited access to your checked bag for the majority of your travel day, you’ll want to keep some essentials in your carry on. Remember, even though you’ll have access to this bag at the airport and when you arrive, you’ll have to store it during your flight. You don’t want to over pack this bag! If it doesn’t meet the airlines requirements, they will make you check it at the gate.


Here are some items that I always include in my carry-on:


Change of Clothes - you never know what’s going to happen on your flight, always plan for the worst. An extra pair of clean socks, a sweatshirt to keep warm, or even shorts to change into if you are coming from a cold destination.

Jewelry - I like to keep my jewelry with me when I travel. You never know what can happen with the airlines.

Toiletries - I wear glasses and contacts, so I like to keep my contact case and solution on me just in case. I’ll also keep a little first aid kit with me which includes; band aids, hand sanitizer, Kleenex, and ibuprofen. (Note: any liquids must be 3 oz. or smaller if they are going in your carry-on).

Sunglasses - You might not need your sunglasses on your flight, but you might want them for when you get off the plane in sunny Florida.


Personal Item

Your personal item is going to include things you’ll need immediate access to at any given point during your travels. Whether that be at security, on your flights, or for check-in. This bag can also be used as your park bag, depending on your packing skills.


Here are some important things to keep on your person while traveling:


Travel Documents - I always keep a copy of all my travel documents on my person as well has on my phone. In the rare chance that computer systems go down.

Identification - This would include state-issued IDs and Passports. Needed to go through security, these items should be the most accessible.

Money - ALWAYS have cash on you when traveling, it’s universal! You’ll also want to have any and all credit cards with you at all times.

Toiletries - Small things like lip balm, hand sanitizer, hair ties, femine products, etc.

Electronics - Phone, tablet, and laptop anything to keep you entertained while at the airport and during the flight. Don’t forget about their chargers too! I like to keep a portable charger on my as well, because you don’t always have access to outlets.

Headphones - I like to take early morning and late night flights, headphones help to keep the noise out while sleeping on the plane.

Snacks - Something I always need while flying is gum. It helps with both takeoff and landing so your ears don’t pop. (I’m not sure if that’s a myth or not…)

Travel Blanket and Pillow - To keep comfortable on the flight.


Everyone packs differently, these are only suggestions based off what I pack to go to Disney World. Like always, I recommend planning ahead and creating your our packing list(s) so you don’t forget anything at home.


Checkout the link below to my post about what to pack in your Disney World Park Bag too.




46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Don't miss out, subscribe!

See you again soon.

©2019 by Disney with Hayley. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page